clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Buckeyes Clinch NCAA Wrestling Title

OSU grappler Logan Stieber cements his legacy with his 4th Individual Title

Jeff Curry-USA TODAY Sports

While the Basketbucks were collapsing in Portland, their fellow athletes were enjoying the greatest day in team history in St. Louis. The Buckeye wrestlers won the program's first team national title, exorcising the demons of two second-place national finishes in recent years. Famed 141-pounder Logan Stieber became only the fourth wrestler in the history of the sport to win four national individual national titles. The Monroeville, Ohio native defeated the second-seeded Mitchell Port of Edinboro (PA) by a score of 11-5 to claim not only the national crown, but a place in history. He joins wrestlers from Iowa State, Oklahoma State, and Cornell in the small and elite group of four-time champions. Stieber finished the season 29-0.

Another Buckeye, Nathan Tomasello, joined Stieber on the championship podium Saturday. The redshirt freshman and reigning B1G champion from Parma, Ohio survived a late pin-fall attempt to defeat West Virginia's Zack Moisey for the 125-pound title.

The Buckeyes were the only team to put two atop the podium, but numerous other Buckeyes and B1G wrestlers placed. Ohio State's Kyle Snyder, a true freshman, finished second in the nation in the 197-pound class behind Iowa State's Kyven Gadson. Gadson is the reigning Big XII champion. Adam Coon of Michigan lost a heartbreaker against NC State top-seed Nick Gwiazdowski in the heavyweight class by the slimmest of margins, 7-6.

Illinois stumbled upon one nice thing, as 157-pound dynamo Isaiah Martinez dispatched Cornell's Brian Realbuto by a score of 10-2 to earn his own national title. In the 174-pound title match, Penn State's Matt Brown survived a 6-2 grinder against Tyler Wilps of Pittsburgh.

Overall, B1G wrestlers either won or placed 2nd in 7 of the NCAA's 10 weight classes. For yet another year, the B1G had teams place both first and second in the team title race. The dominance continues.

Team Finish

1-Ohio State, 102
2-Iowa, 84
3-Edinboro, 75.5
4-Missouri, 73.5
5-Cornell, 71.5

B1G Individual National Titles:

125 lbs - Nathan Tomasello, OSU

141 lbs - Logan Stieber, OSU

157 lbs - Isaiah Martinez, Illinois

174 lbs - Matthew Brown, PSU

B1G Individual Runners-Up:

133 lbs - Cory Clark, Iowa

197 lbs - Kyle Snyder, OSU

285 lbs - Adam Coon, Michigan