clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Big Ten releases football individual award winners

Both wisconsin and Ohio State were well-represented in this year’s award list, while Iowa made a number of appearances as well.

Ohio State v Michigan Photo by Gregory Shamus/Getty Images

Here’s the Big Ten’s list of individual players of the year for 2017:

Dungy-Thompson Humanitarian Award: Chad Greenway, Iowa Hawkeyes

Ford-Kinnick Leadership Award: Troy Vincent, wisconsin badgers

Graham-George Offensive Player of the Year: Saquon Barkley, Penn State Nittany Lions

Nagurski-Woodson Defensive Player of the Year: Josey Jewell, Iowa

Thompson-Randle El Freshman of the Year: Jonathan Taylor, wisconsin

Hayes-Schembechler Coach of the Year (coaches): Paul Chryst, wisconsin

Dave McClain Coach of the Year (media): Paul Chryst, wisconsin

Griese-Brees Quarterback of the Year: J.T. Barrett, Ohio State Buckeyes

Richter-Howard Wide Receiver of the Year: DJ Moore, Maryland Terrapins

Ameche-Dayne Running Back of the Year: Saquon Barkley, Penn State

Kwalick-Clark Tight End of the Year: Troy Fumagalli, wisconsin

Rimington-Pace Offensive Lineman of the Year: Billy Price, Ohio State

Smith-Brown Defensive Lineman of the Year: Nick Bosa, Ohio State

Butkus-Fitzgerald Linebacker of the Year: Josey Jewell, Iowa

Tatum-Woodson Defensive Back of the Year: Josh Jackson, Iowa

Bakken-Andersen Kicker of the Year: Griffin Oakes, Indiana Hoosiers

Eddleman-Fields Punter of the Year: Ryan Anderson, rutger Scarlet Knights

Rodgers-Dwight Returner of the Year: Saquon Barkley, Penn State


  • Regarding Bosa as the DL of the year...we’ll just leave this here. Ohio State fans will just continue to lap up Michigan tears, I guess.
  • Touchdowns > any other stat for running backs, evidently, as the 4th-leading rusher in the Big Ten by yards and 8th-leading rusher by yards-per-carry is the RB of the year. Nothing like coasting off beating the shit out of that Iowa defense, which...
  • At some point are we going to stop rewarding the 1-2 players each year who rise above the mediocrity that is the rest of Iowa football?
  • Despite being a statistically-better punter and meaning 1000 times more to his team than Drue Chrisman, Ryan Anderson was not even a semifinalist for the Ray Guy Award. But he’s a damn deserving Big Ten punter of the year. Congrats to the D-III transfer and best of luck at the next level.
  • I think Griffin Oakes’ turnaround is one of my favorite not-talked-about stories of the 2017 season.
  • Chryst or Brohm, I don’t think you could’ve made a bad decision there. Unless you chose the wisconsin coach, because man’s gotta have a code.
  • And even despite having that code, it’s still a surprise that Jonathan Taylor shows up just once on this awards list.

We know you’ve got thoughts; let ‘em fly in the comments.