clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

B1G Optimism Thursday Looks at Award Nominees

And we say nice things about Maryland and Northwestern, because we’re being nice today damnit.

Just start piling up the trophies at Justin Fields’ home now.
Photo by Emilee Chinn/Getty Images

Hey everybody! Did you know that there’s only 2 weeks of B1G play left? While that’s not a bad thing for everyone, some teams fans have been having a great time this year. “Doing what?” I can hear you ask. Drinking? Probably. But there have been a ton of really really good B1G players this year, and we’re starting to get proof of that as the national award semifinalists lists roll in. All in all, 12 of the 14 B1G Football Teams have been nominated. Look at all these guys who aren’t crap!

Walter Camp - College Player of the Year

Will be announced Today, and I’ll update. But we know that the list is 20 players consisting of 6 QBs, 6 RB, 4 WR, and 4 defensive players. I’m willing to bet we’ll see a handful of B1G players in this group.

Maxwell - Best Offensive Player

Justin Fields (tOSU)

KJ Hamler (PSU)

Jonathan Taylor (wisconsin)

Hornung (Most Versatile)

Wan’Dale Robinson (Nebraska)

Bednarik - Best Defensive Player

Chase Young (tOSU)

Nagurski - Top Defensive Player

Antoine Winfield Jr. (Minnesota)

Chase Young (tOSU)

Davey O’Brien - Best QB

Justin Fields (tOSU)

Tanner Morgan (Minnesota)

Doak Walker - Best RB (No semifinalists announced, but they have a link to “candidates” - i.e. statistical leaders)

J.K. Dobbins (tOSU)

Jonathan Taylor (wisconsin)

Biletnikoff - Best WR

Rashod Bateman (Minnesota)

Mackey - Best TE

Brycen Hopkins (Purdue)

Outland Trophy - Best Interior Lineman

Tyler Biadasz (wisconsin)

Tristan Wirfs (Iowa)

Butkus - Best LB

Joe Bachie (MSU)

Zack Baun (wisconsin)

Jordan Glasgow (Michigan)

Jake Hansen (Illinois)

Micah Parsons (PSU)

Thorpe - Best DB

Jeffrey Okudah (tOSU)

Groza - Best Kicker

Keith Duncan (Iowa)

Logan Justus (Indiana)

Ray Guy - Punter (No announcement other than a link to a poll from their twitter account. That’s some good OTE-level work, Ray Guy Award people)

Adam Korsak - Rutgers

So there you have it. nearly every B1G program has been represented in postseason awards, with just Maryland and Northwestern failing to get a player recognized. But because this is an Optimism Thursday, here’s a nice thing about each of the other two teams:

Maryland: Hey! You host Nebraska this weekend and you’ve got a chance to win! I’m not saying you will, but a chance is better than nothing. Right?

Northwestern: Look at you, Purple Cats. You almost covered that insane spread against UMass last weekend! So close!


Which B1G Players will be in NYC for the Heisman ceremony?

This poll is closed

  • 29%
    Justin Fields
    (44 votes)
  • 14%
    Jonathan Taylor
    (21 votes)
  • 21%
    Both of those guys
    (32 votes)
  • 10%
    Somebody else
    (16 votes)
  • 24%
    None of the above
    (37 votes)
150 votes total Vote Now