clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Big Ten Basketball: OTE’s B1G Player of the Year, All-B1G teams

Better late than never?

The Big Ten coaches and media beclowned themselves this year by announcing their All-B1G teams with only two unanimous selections: Cassius Winson and Carsen Edwards. In an effort to remedy this, OTE writers came together to fill out a spreadsheet on their selections for All-B1G teams and the Player of the Year. How’d they do? Slightly better than the coaches and media, only slightly beclowning themselves. Oh and we actually (barely) gave Jordan Murphy the accolades he deserved as the clear best player on a the clear medicorest team.

OTE’s Big Ten Basketball Player of the Year

Cassius Winston - Michigan State Spartans

Duh. It seemed like a neck-and-neck-and-neck, steamy three-way race for this award in January. By March it wasn’t even close. OTE writers almost unanimously selected Winston as the POY, with just MCClapYoHandz as the lone differing vote (MC picked Edwards). Winston can score, can play defense, and led the B1G, and maybe the NCAA?, in assists. Good player who is probably unfortunately sticking around another year.

OTE’s Big Ten Basketball First Team All-B1G

Cassius Winston - Michigan State Spartans (unanimous)

Carsen Edwards - Purdue Boilermakers (unanimous)

Bruno Fernando - Maryland Terrapins (unanimous)

Ethan Happ - Wisconsin Badgers

Jordan Murphy - Minnesota Golden Gophers

The OTE writers did the right thing and made Fernando a unanimous selection. The OTE writers continued to suck on the whole though, not making Happ a unanimous selection (although two of the three second-team votes were from the usual “never take anything I say seriously about Wisconsin because I predicted them to have like 4 wins this year” crowd. CandystripesforBreakfast was the other non-first team Happ vote, and knowing him as I do, I expect he did it to help the others save face because he’s smart and a nice guy).

In a change from the media and coaches, OTE selected Jordan Murphy to the first team by a single point over Lamar Stevens. Minnesota objectively is terrible and all their fans are garbage, but Murphy deserved to be first team as one of the B1G’s best at rebounding and committing fouls.

OTE’s Big Ten Basketball All-B1G Second Team

Lamar Stevens - Penn State Nittany Lions

Ignas Brazdekis - Michigan Wolverines

Zavier Simpson - Michigan Wolverines

Anthony Cowan, Jr. - Maryland Terrapins

Romeo Langford - Indiana Hoosiers

Not a lot to talk about here. As predicted by someone who is the person writing this article, Michigan ends up with no first teamers despite having a pretty good season. Langford made the Second Team by one point over James Palmer, Jr.

OTE’s Big Ten Basketball All-B1G Third Team

James Palmer, Jr. - Nebraska Cornhuskers

Nick Ward - Michigan State Spartans

Amir Coffey - Minnesota Golden Gophers

Tyler Cook - Iowa Hawkeyes

Juwan Morgan - Indiana Hoosiers

Some really good players on this list! And some players who could take over games and carry their teams or just totally disappear.

No All-B1G members on Illinois (although Ayo Dosunmu had the most votes of anyone who didn’t get picked), Northwestern, Ohio State, or Rutgers. Jason Bohannon of the Iowa Hawkeyes and Jalen Smith of the Maryland Terrapins each got some votes though.

Congrats to these guys! May everyone on this list experienced prolonged teamwide incompetence next season, except for Happ and anyone else who’s graduating or going pro.


Best salad?

This poll is closed

  • 23%
    (49 votes)
  • 11%
    (24 votes)
  • 20%
    (42 votes)
  • 11%
    (23 votes)
  • 32%
    Something with actual lettuce of some kind
    (67 votes)
205 votes total Vote Now