clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Super-Prestigious OTE Preseason All-B1G Basketball Team Released

I mean, not a REAL preseason All-B1G team. It’s OTE’s All-B1G team. Which is to are some good players in the Big Ten.

NCAA Basketball: Illinois at Iowa
But which one? Ooooooh, the excitement...
Jeffrey Becker-USA TODAY Sports

So what’s wrong with an under-explained list of our preseason All-Big Ten basketball team?

What do you mean, you don’t know who plays for what team or who’s any good?

What do you mean, “you’re a football blog—stick to doing that poorly”?

How DARE you?

We have one podcast preview of Northwestern, Nebraska, and Rutgers already out — but this is an All-Big Ten team, so you’re not gonna hear much about those players below.

Hell, you’re not going to hear much of anything, because remember: under-explained list.

We’ve got seven voters: Stewmonkey13, MC ClapYoHandz, MNWildcat, beezer07, Jesse Collins, WhiteSpeedReceiver, and Andrew Kraszewski. Not everyone filled out a full ballot, meaning we’ve got some awkward, incomplete voting here.

Results below. UNANIMOUS first-team selections in all caps, First-Team Votes (FTV) noted in brackets.

First Team All-B1G

Update: Some ballots (OK, a ballot) were (was) found on the back of a truck. We couldn’t match the signature and the ink was a different color, but as part of a cabal, the Wayne County Board of Canvassers has voted to certify our election. What I have written, I have written.

G — AYO DOSUNMU, Illinois Fighting Illini [7 FTV]
G — Marcus Carr, Minnesota Golden Gophers [2 FTV]
F — Trayce Jackson-Davis, Indiana Hoosiers [2 FTV]
C — Kofi Cockburn, Illinois Fighting Illini [5 FTV]
C — LUKA GARZA, Iowa Hawkeyes [7 FTV]

Second Team All-B1G

G — Joshua Langford, Michigan State Spartans
F — Aaron Henry, Michigan State Spartans [4 FTV]
F — Joe Wieskamp, Iowa Hawkeyes [2 FTV]
F — Micah Potter, Wisconsin Badgers [2 FTV]
C — Nate Reuvers, Wisconsin Badgers [1 FTV]

Third Team All-B1G

G — Rocket Watts, Michigan State Spartans
G — Geo Baker, Rutgers Scarlet Knights
G — Jordan Bohannon, Iowa Hawkeyes
F — Trevion Williams, Purdue Boilermakers
F — Fritz Wagner, Michigan Wolverines [1 FTV]

Also Receiving Votes: Joey Hauser (MSU), Duane Washington Jr. (Ohio State Buckeyes), Aaron Wiggins (Maryland Terrapins), Myreon Jones (Penn State Nittany Lions), Trey McGowens (Nebraska Cornhuskers), Ron Harper Jr. (RU)

OTE Preseason Player of the Year

Luka Garza, Iowa Hawkeyes [5/6 votes]


Who’s your preseason Big Ten player of the year?

This poll is closed

  • 52%
    Luka Garza
    (56 votes)
  • 2%
    Kofi Cockburn
    (3 votes)
  • 15%
    Ayo Dosunmu
    (17 votes)
  • 4%
    Trayce Jackson-Davis
    (5 votes)
  • 6%
    Aaron Henry
    (7 votes)
  • 17%
    No, seriously, I’m choosing someone not on this list, and I’ll excoriate you for it in the comments.
    (19 votes)
107 votes total Vote Now